Empire Avenue scores every network (network score as well as dividend & earnings it produces) by 3 general factors: your activity, your followers’ response to your activity (likes & comments), and your number of followers.

One strategy to increase the size of one’s network is to follow back everyone who follows you. A second, closely related strategy is to follow people in the hopes that they will follow you back.  What are the pros and cons of each?

EAv Strategy

From the perspective of Empire Avenue strategy, following and following back as many people as possible can only increase your IG network score, dividend and earnings.

The only potential downfall I can think of is that by following so many people, you may miss the pics of the people you actually know and your engagement with them will diminish. This can be remedied, however by using the groups feature on http://statigr.am Groups function a lot like Twitter lists. I created an EAv group, put all my EAv friends in it, then I can view pics of just the people in that group.

Mixed Motives

Obviously there are also other reasons apart from EAv to follow and follow back on IG. Some will claim purer motives than increasing their EAv scores, but we all have mixed motives when it comes to this. I’ll be honest that my motivation for starting to use IG was solely to increase my EAv score. But the more I use it, the more I enjoy seeing interesting pics and enjoy get to know my EAv friends a little better through their pics.

Personally, follow back everyone who follows me with the exception of people who have vulgar or profane usernames. I have also unfollowed some people whose pics I thought were inappropriate, self-absorbed or just plain bad. I also follow new people rather liberally.

How about you?

  1. Do you follow back? Why or why not?
  2. Do you liberally follow others? Why or why not?

Progress?

And a standard question I’m going ask at the end of every post in this series… how are things going for you on IG? Are you doing anything different because of something you read in this series? What impact is it having?

My IG network score jumped another 2 points to 23, leapfrogging my FB page to become my #5 network. I had a record 32 likes of a photo I posted yesterday and have already eclipsed that with 36 likes of a photo I posted this morning. I also had my all-time second highest EAv dividend yesterday, 1.89e/share.

- Paul
(e)PDSTEIN
http://statigr.am/pdstein

Instagram #3: The Power of Hashtags <– How to Rock Empire Avenue with Instagram –> Instagram #5: Top 8 Subjects for Instagram Pics

